Competing Memories

Does something like this ever happen to you?  From Yale psychologist Brice Kuhl, quoted in a NY Times article about memory:

“I park in a garage every day at work, and I park in a different space every day, depending on availability. And I very often walk to where I parked the day before. It’s not that I totally forgot where I parked, it’s just that I still remember yesterday’s spot.”

When the brain is cluttered with similar items (say a new password replacing an expired one, or a new phone number), we have difficulty recalling just one. Kuhl’s research (published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences) indicates that this difficulty is reflected in “more ambiguous” neural activation when engaged in competitive remembering as compared to “more robust” activation for non-competitive memories.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

